Who we are – What we do    

The Monroe County Museum maintains and operates five historic sites in Monroe County, Ala., that collectively interpret the area’s rich history, ranging from the prehistoric fossil deposits at Claiborne Bluff, Native American culture, pioneer life, politics and the literary legacy of Truman Capote and Harper Lee.


Our mission is to bring people and history together. This mission is founded on two beliefs: First, understanding regional history enriches lives; and second, heritage is best understood and enjoyed through first-hand experience of well-presented programs and exhibits designed to tell the story of our past. The museum staff collects, preserves, studies, interprets and exhibits artifacts, photographs, manuscripts, publications and films.    


The museum serves the general public, schoolchildren, local residents, tourists and scholars. The museum cooperates with other historic and educational institutions in the study, interpretation and promotion of local and regional history to contribute to the quality of life in the region.

Our Board

The Monroe County heritage Museum Board of Directors meets at the Old Courthouse Museum on the second Thursday of each month.

Patricia McCullers, President
Harvey Gaston, Vice President
Paula Richeson, Secretary
Jackie Montgomery
Al Brewton
Mark Burgess

Nell Cardwell

Dr. Steven Carter

Kay Lett
Tim McKenzie

Leroy Rodgers

Sandy Smith

Marvia Tait

Karen Tucker

Our Staff


Wanda GreenExecutive Director, 251-575-8169

      Education programs & events


Nathan CarterPR Director & Sites Director, 251-575-8167

       Facilities rentals


Laura Richeson HarrisMarketing & Gift Shop Director, 251-575-8156

       Membership coordinator

Gail DeasDevelopment Director, 251-575-8170

Main Phone: 251-575-7433


Fax: 251-575-2513


Email: mchm@frontiernet.net


Mailing Address:
            31 North Alabama Ave.
            Monroeville, AL 36460


Physical Address:
            31 North Alabama Ave.
            Monroeville, AL 36460